Robinson Plantation & Museum, NJ, is a plantation museum located in the Pine Barrens region of New Jersey. The plantation was built between 1752-1755 by Captain Daniel Robinson, a wealthy Quaker merchant from Burlington County, New Jersey. After falling into disrepair near the end of the 19th century, it was purchased and restored by Joseph Williamson in 1904. However, Williamson’s restoration efforts were not completed, and the plantation was again abandoned.
The current Robinson Plantation Museum owners are currently performing preservation on the plantation house. The museum is an excellent example of how life was lived by the Pine Barrens settlers who sought freedom from religious discrimination. Robinsons Plantation & Museum, NJ is a part of the New Jersey State Park system and is managed by the Pinelands Commission. The plantation house has been open to the public since 1973 through guided tours.
The museum houses a large collection of artifacts that were indigenous to the Stone Age era including arrowheads, axes, pottery & tools used during the early 18th century. The museum also contains the original bed in which Captain Robinson died and is open to visitors on a regular basis.
The plantation house, dating back to the early 18th century, is currently being restored. The restoration effort and tours of Robinsons Plantation & Museum, NJ are available for public viewing.
Captain Daniel Robinson was one of the earliest Quaker settlers in Burlington County, New Jersey. He relocated to Robinsons Plantation & Museum, NJ from Philadelphia shortly after he was married in 1752. Robinson became a successful merchant and built his plantation home based on European designs popular at the time with inspiration from local Pennsylvania Dutch influences.
Local attractions near the Robinson Plantation & Museum include the Longwood Gardens, Moorestown Mall, and the Philadelphia Premium Outlets. Local restaurants include Texas Roadhouse, Outback Steakhouse, and the Chop House.
The Robinson Plantation Museum NJ is a historic plantation located in the Pinelands. It was built in 1752 by Daniel Robinson, who emigrated to New Jersey from Philadelphia. During his early days on the plantation, he became successful as a merchant and eventually built himself a large home-based on European designs. However, five years after moving his family onto the plantation, he died. After many years of the house being in disrepair and abandoned, it was renovated and opened to the public as a museum in 1973. Visitors can explore how life on an 18th century